An evening of refined and delightful melody awaits in this programme at Ferneham Hall, including a pre-show talk and entertainment.

Conductor: Robin Browning.

  • Pavane – Fauré

  • Masques et Bergamasques – Fauré

  • Duet Concertino for Clarinet, Bassoon, Strings and Harp – Richard Strauss Soloists: Robert Blanken, Richard Moore

  • Sospiri – Elgar

  • Symphony No. 5 in B flat – Schubert

We are very excited to explore some more of the music of Richard Strauss and in the Duet Concertino, his last completed composition, we proudly feature our own clarinet and bassoon duo, Robert Blanken and Richard Moore.

We surround it with the gentleness of works by Faure and Elgar, beginning the concert with Faure’s two beautiful pieces, the Pavane and the Suite ‘Masques et Bergamasques’.  The second half begins with the deep sigh of Elgar’s Sospiri – a heartfelt short piece for strings and harp.

Then, to complete the programme, we take a trip back about one hundred years for the lightest of Schubert’s symphonies, number 5 in B flat.  The symphony is something of an homage to Mozart and it took Schubert just about one month, in September 1816, to produce this incredibly elegant and melodious work.

6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk in the auditorium  7.00pm–7.20pm: Pre-concert interlude in the Octagon Lounge by local music pupils




Dates & times

Sat 14 October  7:30 PM

Ticket prices

Full £20/£17/£14/£8

Student over 19 with ID £10/£7/£4

Under 19 in FT education £1